Author Spotlight – Colleen Nye

This week, I’m pleased to share an interview with one of the driving forces of our anthology series. Colleen Nye has worked very hard keep all the authors and volunteers in line. Organizing a project of this size is no small task and her tireless efforts are a great asset to the Debut Collective group.  

The Debut Collective is a supportive tribe of authors (both published and aspiring), editors, formatters, and cover designers working together to foster a new generation of stories and authors. We will be publishing 5 short story anthologies in June 2016.

We are pleased to share the following interview with contributing author, Colleen Nye!

 

 

Please share a little about yourself and your background.

I am an author. What? I can’t stop there? Darn. Okay… I am a published author. I love writing fiction in various genres, and I also dabble a bit in short stories.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Please share information on any published or upcoming books.

Published, I have: The Unattainable Series: When in Maui, Immersion and am the lead author in The Lunchtime Anthologies: Gable Heights.

Unpublished but coming this year (outside of this collection), I have The Unattainable Series: When in Doubt, The Long Summer and The Lunch Time Anthologies: Domino Effect (working title)

 

 

Which Debut Collective anthology/anthologies will you be published in?

I am in all five. Shhhh… I’m co-leader. I get roped in easily. LOL

 

Share a brief teaser or logline for your story/stories.

I think my stories are all different. So I’m not sure how to wrap it all into one. However, if you like sudden twists or maybe a cliffhanger or two… 🙂

 

Share an insight into your main character. What made you want to write a story from their perspective?

They are all unique. I think, with all my stories, they just pop into my head and start telling me stories. So, I write them.

 

What genre(s) do you write and what draws you to that genre?

I have a dystopian tech thriller, crime drama, coming of age drama and romantic comedy series. I love most genres. I think I’m drawn more to a story than a genre, really.

 

Describe a typical writing day, or is there such a thing for you? Do you aim for a set amount of words/pages per day? Write in Scrivener, notebooks, or on cocktail napkins?

I am terrible at plotting and planning my writing. I just write when it strikes and when I have time. I have two laptops in my hope accessible and carry a tablet with attached keyboard everywhere for easy access. And when I write, I tend to write for long periods of time.

 

Are you a plotter (outline plot) or a pantser (prefer to run with an idea)?

I am a complete panster. Hands down.

 

What book(s) are you currently reading or would you recommend?

I recommend Cassandra Clare’s books. ALL of them! Also, Greg Bear’s Blood Music. I’m currently reading The 5th Wave by Rick Yancy. And next, I’ll be reading Winston Graham’s Poldark. Oh… and do NOT miss the chance to read Holly Black’s The Coldest Girl in Coldtown. Such a fun read!

 

What is your favorite writing/reading related quote?

One I wrote “I’d hit that twice and hollar back later.” … but I’m not sure that’s as funny to everyone else as it is to me.

 

Tell us 5 random facts about you:

Wow… hmmm…

(1.) The bottom half of my left eye is brown – the rest are green.

(2.) I am only 4’9”

(3.) I have dyslexia as well as am a narcoleptic and have mild autism

(4.) My great uncle, Russel B Nye, was a pulitzer prize winner in the 1940’s

(5.) I LOVE to travel.

 

Does music influence your writing? If so, can you share a song that inspired your Debut Collective anthology story?

Music is a HUGE influence on all of my life. I have multiple Spotify playlists, and I have one of them on at all times. But Blue October is probably the most inspiring for me. I have their discography on shuffle a lot when writing. I’ve mentioned their songs in more than one book. I even have Justin’s autograph on a copy of When in Maui where there was lyrics of 18th Floor Balcony from when I hug out with him a few years ago. #madlove

 

What advice would you give to aspiring writers?

Keep writing. Someone wants to hear your story!

 

How has participating in the collective and the anthology project inspired or pushed you creatively?

Co-leading this project has inspired me to keep supporting my fellow authors as well as being in awe of the sheer magnitude of this project and how just about everyone involved was more than helpful. Everyone worked so hard… together!

 How can readers discover more about you and you work?

Website or Blog: www.colleennye.com

Facebook: www.facebook.com/authorcolleennye

Twitter: www.twitter.com/Colleen_Nye

Tumblr: I have one, but I don’t know how to use it 🙂 It’s Colleen Nye

Pinterest: @writernye

Goodreads: www.goodreads.com/author/show/7822534.Colleen_Nye

Amazon Author Page: www.amazon.com/Colleen-Nye/e/B007HR06Z8/

 www.bluedecopublishing.com

www.facebook.com/bluedecopublishing

www.twitter.com/bluedecopublish

  

Thank you for participating! Please join us on Monday, when the Debut Collective will start the week of right with a feature of Author BJ Sheldon!  

 

Leave a Reply

