Author Spotlight – Carol Kunz

There’s a reason Carol won the 2015 Utopian of the Year award. She exudes kindness and acceptance with every hug she so generously shares.  I had difficulty finding a photo on her Facebook page where she wasn’t hugging someone.

The Debut Collective is a supportive tribe of authors (both published and aspiring), editors, formatters, and cover designers working together to foster a new generation of stories and authors. We will be publishing 5 short story anthologies in June 2016.

We are pleased to share the following interview with USA Today Bestselling author, Carol Kunz.

 

Please share a little about yourself and your background.

My Mum is English and my Dad is American. My Dad was in the Air Force and stationed in England when he met my Mum. I was born in an English maternity home and didn’t come to the United States until I was three. I spent 14 out of the first 19 years of my life, living in England. My Hubby and I have been married 40 years next month and we have two adult children. My Hubby retired from the Air Force and we moved to Florida in 1999. We have two fur babies that keep us busy. Our son lives a hour away and our daughter, thirty minutes away.

 

Please share information on any published or upcoming books.  I’m currently working on three books, yes, three.  Two are romantic comedies and the other is a paranormal romance.

Which Debut Collective anthology/anthologies will you be published in?  Bravery

Share a brief teaser or logline for your story/stories.  

Is she losing her mind or are her dreams real?

Share an insight into your main character. What made you want to write a story from their perspective? My character is an overworked medical intern.  I worked in the medical field for years so I love reading and watching books and shows that deal with medicine, like Code Black, Grey’s Anatomy and Robin Cook’s Coma.

What genre(s) do you write and what draws you to that genre? I write Middle Grade and Young Adult Paranormal and Dystopian with my son, Adam and I write Adult under the pen name Amanda Jason.

Describe a typical writing day, or is there such a thing for you? Do you aim for a set amount of words/pages per day? Write in Scrivener, notebooks, or on cocktail napkins?  I have to be in the mood to write but when I am, the ideas flow. I scribble notes on a small notepad that I carry with me in my purse.

Are you a plotter (outline plot) or a pantser (prefer to run with an idea)? When I write with my son we have to use an outline. When writing by myself, I’m a pantser.

What book(s) are you currently reading or would you recommend? I’m reading The Tapping Solution by Nick Ortner

What is your favorite writing/reading related quote?

“There is no greater agony than hearing an untold story inside you.”  Maya Angelou

 

Had to include this beautiful photo of Carol being kissed by our own BJ Sheldon. Love her expression of love!

Tell us 5 random facts about you:

 

1.      My neck was broken 22 years ago.

2.      I have a broken titanium plate in my neck

3.      I’m left-handed.

4.      My pen name Amanda Jason is a tribute to my twins I lost 39 years ago this month.

5.      I never thought I would live beyond the age of 40. Three days after my 40th birthday, I died on the OR table.

Does music influence your writing? If so, can you share a song that inspired your Debut Collective anthology story? No. I have to write in a quiet room.

What advice would you give to aspiring writers? How has participating in the collective and the anthology project inspired or pushed you creatively?  Write what you love, never give up your dream and definitely don’t wait until my age to follow it.

How can readers discover more about you and you work?

Facebook: www.facebook.com/CarolKohnertKunz

Twitter: @amandaJason13

Pinterest: Carol Kunz

Amazon Author Page: Amazon

 

 Thank you for participating, Carol! I’m looking forward to another of your famous hugs at UTOPiA 2016. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

