Author Spotlight – David Berger

Okay, trust me on this… You MUST scroll down and check out David’s fan-freaking-tastic office. What an amazing room for creativity & connecting with your inner superhero!

The Debut Collective is a supportive tribe of authors (both published and aspiring), editors, formatters, and cover designers working together to foster a new generation of stories and authors. We will be publishing 5 short story anthologies in June 2016.

We are pleased to share the following interview with contributing author, David Berger.

 

Please share a little about yourself and your background.

Ever since I was a child, I was actively inspired by the Muses to write. Whether it was stories of the Smurfs when I was seven or Star-Trek-meets-Greek-myth short story in my senior year in high school, I have always desired to share adventures. Becoming an English teacher simply fueled my desire to write, and from this, as well as a love of fantasy and comic books (especially Wonder Woman), I created my Task Force: Gaea series. I go to various conventions across the country to meet fans, sign books, and just be a total geek.

 

 

 

Please share information on any published or upcoming books.

I am currently working on book four of the Task Force: Gaea series, The Archer’s Paradox, as well as an anthology of stories, Of Mortal Bonds, tied to the second book (Memory’s Curse) that will give the account of the Olympians living as mortals for one year. I’m also writing a Celtic myth-inspired series called The DragonHawk Cycle, with the first novel being The Quest of Wyndracer and Fyrehunter (2017 or 2018). In this series, two sixteen-year-old boys, Conall and Aedan, learn they are destined to stop a war between the Ancient Ones being fought in the mortal world.

 

Which Debut Collective anthology/anthologies will you be published in?

The Underdog anthology.

Share a brief teaser or logline for your story/stories.

Prince Aisling sat in the shadow of his three older brothers all his life, that is, until he needed to use his magic to help his father, but in the unlikeliest of ways.

Share an insight into your main character. What made you want to write a story from their perspective?

Prince Aisling was born the youngest of four, and his brothers have had the ability to conjure weapons ever since they were little. Aisling doesn’t follow his brothers’ path, and that has him tormented by the other three and even members of the kingdom. I was bullied as a child, and I didn’t realize my gifts until I needed to use them, namely my love of writing. I wanted to show that people have talents, but they don’t always look like everyone else’s.

What genre(s) do you write and what draws you to that genre?

I write in the fantasy genre, and this came from my love of comic books and fantasy novels. The escape I find in the fantasy realm grew from being a child of divorce and needing to lose myself in books. As an adult, I enjoy creating other worlds where the rules of this one don’t necessarily apply.

 

 

Describe a typical writing day, or is there such a thing for you? Do you aim for a set amount of words/pages per day? Write in Scrivener, notebooks, or on cocktail napkins?

I start by outlining a story, or a novel, and then I try to make time a few times a week to work on some aspect of it: a chapter, a scene, or a character. I find that aiming for word counts is counterproductive, and sometimes demoralizing, so I just write until I can’t write any further. Then, I pick it up another time. I use Microsoft Word mostly, but I start out with Google Docs.

Are you a plotter (outline plot) or a pantser (prefer to run with an idea)?

I’m a “bi” writer, I do a bit of both. 😉

What book(s) are you currently reading or would you recommend?

I just finished Slumberscythe by Vance Bastian and To Move Forward by Geoffrey Bauernfeind. I highly recommend them both!

What is your favorite writing/reading related quote?

One of my high school English teachers wrote in my yearbook, “In a blue Aegean night, after the gods and nymphs have said adieu, your muse will find new life.” That has been the core of my writing since I was a young man.

The view from David’s desk. Coolest office ever, right? More pics in his Facebook Album: Wonder Woman Shrine!

Tell us 5 random facts about you:

I have a Wonder Woman-themed home office, I’ve appeared in three different Wonder Woman comics, I use my middle name as my first name, I my first novel took 25 years to finish, and I watch comic book related movies for inspiration.

 

Does music influence your writing? If so, can you share a song that inspired your Debut Collective anthology story?

Music does not influence my writing. In fact, I write best with background noise at Starbucks than anything else. Or, perhaps a thunderstorm.

What advice would you give to aspiring writers? How has participating in the collective and the anthology project inspired or pushed you creatively?

With aspiring writers, I would say, everyone’s work has an audience, and they need to find theirs. Not all writers in the same genre attract the same readers. Knowing I was writing with others helped fuel me a bit, keeping my writing mojo moving through the rough spots we all have.

How can readers discover more about you and you work?

Website: http://www.davidbergerbooks.com

Facebook: facebook.com/david.berger

Twitter: twitter.com/MrDBerger

Instagram: instagram.com/inspiredgemini

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5625101.David_Berger

Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/David-Berger/e/B0075O7YD0/

 

Thank you for participating! Please join us on Wednesday, when the Debut Collective will feature Kristina Seek.

 

Leave a Reply

