Author Spotlight – Kristina Seek

Kristina is a shining example of the power of the Debut Collective’s community and support. Her two stories for the Debut Collective Anthologies will be her first published works. So exciting!

We are pleased to share the following interview with contributing author, Kristina Seek.

 

Please share a little about yourself and your background.

I am a Texan, but have lived in Charlotte, NC since the early 1990s.  I was a History major in college; ancient civilizations, medieval Europe, and Colonial America are my favorite periods.  I do Marketing & Promotions for a Design-Build firm, and I enjoy reading, writing, and travelling.

 

Please share information on any published or upcoming books.

My submissions to The Debut Collective will be my first published stories.  I have two works in progress, and plan to publish one or both in late 2016.

 

 

Which Debut Collective anthology/anthologies will you be published in?

Secret Identity and Underdogs

 

Share a brief teaser or logline for your story/stories.

Love in FX (Secret Identity): The President’s daughter goes to extreme measures to avoid the press during a rare night out with her boyfriend.

River Reeds (Underdogs):  Teenage villagers who fail a rite of passage are banished to life on the riverbank.  When the village is under attacked, will the outcasts do anything to help?

 

 

 

Share an insight into your main character. What made you want to write a story from their perspective?

Love in FX: Kinsey Matthews is the eldest daughter of the newly elected President of the United States.  Between the Secret Service and the paparazzi, she is not afforded the privacy needed to spend time with her boyfriend.  When deciding on an approach for a Secret Identity story, I thought a “hiding in plain sight” plot would be fun.  Politicians may want the limelight, but their children may not want the interruption into their lives.

 

What genre(s) do you write and what draws you to that genre?

Middle Grade/ Young Adult adventure and contemporary romance.  I enjoy books for kids and moms alike!

 

Describe a typical writing day, or is there such a thing for you? Do you aim for a set amount of words/pages per day? Write in Scrivener, notebooks, or on cocktail napkins?

I just open a Word document and go for it.  I start with an outline and write in stolen moments.  Don’t tell my boss, but sometimes inspiration strikes while I am on the clock & I fill up sticky notes with ideas.

 

Are you a plotter (outline plot) or a pantser (prefer to run with an idea)?

Recovering pantser; converted to plotting recently.

 

What book(s) are you currently reading or would you recommend?

Currently reading Stars Above by Marissa Meyer.  I am a huge fan of the Lunar Chronicles series.

 

What is your favorite writing/reading related quote?

If there is a book you want to read. but it hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it. – Toni Morrison

 

Tell us 5 random facts about you:

  1. I am an only child.
  2. My son is an only child.
  3. My husband was a college cheerleader.
  4. I am a huge Carolina Panthers fan.
  5. I work out about 5 days a week at a bootcamp.

 

Does music influence your writing? If so, can you share a song that inspired your Debut Collective anthology story?

My Silver Lining by First Aid Kit

 

What advice would you give to aspiring writers?

The first draft is for your eyes only.  Write like nobody will see it; edit like everyone will.

 

How has participating in the collective and the anthology project inspired or pushed you creatively?

The accountability and deadlines forced me to follow through with my commitments.  Knowing I was supported by a generous team of professionals made the challenges easier to face, and I was encouraged by the friends and family who knew I was participating in such an incredible project.

 

How can readers discover more about you and you work?

I have a book blog: www.thebookbeacon.com

Facebook: Kristina Seek, Author

Twitter: @krisseek

Pinterest: Kris Seek

Goodreads: Kris Seek

Thank you for participating! Please join us on Friday, when the Debut Collective will feature N. L. Byers. 
3 Comments

Leave a Reply

