Author Spotlight – Ginny Gallagher

This may be the first interview that made me do a honest-to-goodness snort laugh! (Always attractive!) Be sure to read #5 of her five random facts.

Ginny is always quick to encourage and support her fellow authors. She also has an excellent eye for design! I may try a few of her tips on getting into writing mode myself. 🙂

The Debut Collective is a supportive tribe of authors (both published and aspiring), editors, formatters, and cover designers working together to foster a new generation of stories and authors. We will be publishing 5 short story anthologies in June 2016.

We are pleased to share the following interview with contributing author, Ginny Gallagher!

 

G_G_blackPlease share a little about yourself and your background.

I graduated with a degree in business administration and dabbled in numerous careers on my journey back to my soul’s desire—writing. Along the way, I had a son who is now a member of the Coast Guard, married, and adopted many fur kids—currently six spoiled dogs and two snobby cats. In my spare time, I enjoy all types of crafts, reading across multiple genres, and spending Sunday evenings catching up on favorite TV series (Arrow, Flash, and Mysteries of Laura…just to name a few).

My stories will feature the elements that are close to my heart: Mystery, Magic, and Soul. Several titles in multiple genres are scheduled for release in 2016-2017. My short story, Clear Beginnings, introduces my paranormal mystery series, Maggie McGuire’s Psychic Adventures, and will appear in the Debut Collective Anthologies in June 2016. Clear Vision, book one of Maggie McGuire’s Psychic Adventures is scheduled for release in August 2016.  Book one of The Cauldron Chronicles, a young adult fantasy series, should release the first part of 2017 and I have a romantic suspense novel, Hope and Misery prepped for release in October 2016.

I love connecting with fans and fellow book lovers. You can sign up for my monthly newsletter to receive information on upcoming releases, exclusive sneak peeks, and subscriber only giveaways.

Maggie-McGuire-Book-1Please share information on any published or upcoming books.

Clear Beginnings is a short story prequel to the Maggie McGuire’s Psychic Adventures series. Book one, Clear Vision, is scheduled for release in August 2016.

Which Debut Collective anthology/anthologies will you be published in?

Underdog Anthology

Share a brief teaser or logline for your story/stories.

The unknown is a scary destination but often it’s the place where we discover who we really are.

When a mysterious stranger awakens Maggie McGuire’s repressed psychic abilities, she learns that maintaining her normal life comes with a higher price than she may be willing to pay. Can she learn to open her heart and mind to the new adventures that await her?

Share an insight into your main character. What made you want to write a story from their perspective?

I see a lot of myself in Maggie and relate to her yearning for more but allowing fears to hold her back. Clear Beginnings sets the stage for Maggie’s journey of self-actualization. Along the way there’s fabulous friendships, interesting romances, dangerous mysteries, and soul-filled magic.

What genre(s) do you write and what draws you to that genre?

I enjoy writing stories that feature character growth and paranormal aspects but am too much of a rebel to tie myself to one genre.

Describe a typical writing day, or is there such a thing for you? Do you aim for a set amount of words/pages per day? Write in Scrivener, notebooks, or on cocktail napkins?

I’ve tried everything to arrange a “typical” writing day (word counts, chapters, etc.) and it wasn’t until a month ago that I realized I had to find my own way of making this writing gig work. I now write 4 nights per week for three to four hours and leave the daytime hours for edit and design work. On writing nights I light a candle, begin with a 10-15 minute meditation and free writing session, open my writing playlist on Spotify, and start writing. I use Scrivener but sometimes I have to put away the technology and spend time with a pen and notebook to dig deep into what the characters are wanting to communicate.

Are you a plotter (outline plot) or a pantser (prefer to run with an idea)?

I’m a plotter but I allow myself detours along the way.

What book(s) are you currently reading or would you recommend?

I’m currently reading Furiously Happy: A Funny Book About Horrible Things by Jenny Lawson. It’s hilarious but if anyone is sensitive to bad language they might not enjoy it. Prior to starting it I binge read Liz Long’s DONAVAN CIRCUS SERIES and really enjoyed it.

Ginny - Too-Smart-Art

What is your favorite writing/reading related quote?

You are far too smart to be the only thing standing in your way. —Jennifer J. Freeman

 

 

 

 

Tell us 5 random facts about you:

  1. I wrote my first story in 6th grade and wish I’d listened to my teacher when she told me writing was my calling.
  2. I have six dogs and two cats.
  3. I just finished a class that used oracle cards as a daily divine meditation and I loved it.
  4. I design book covers in my spare time.
  5. I once called a gynecologist office and although I thought it was odd that the doctor answered the phone I preceded with describing the problem I was having when he asked how he could help me. His response, “Ma’m this is Dr. Smith the Veterinarian.”

Does music influence your writing? If so, can you share a song that inspired your Debut Collective anthology story?

I have an eclectic taste in music—actually in everything—so my playlists span multiple genres. A few songs on my “Maggie” playlist are Dig by Incubus, Fix My Eyes by for King & Country, and Learning to Fly by Tom Petty.

What advice would you give to aspiring writers? How has participating in the collective and the anthology project inspired or pushed you creatively?

Finish your first draft and give yourself time to learn through the revision process. Participating in the collective anthology project has been amazing. Seeing how my story changed from the first draft to the final version has helped me see that the first draft is only the beginning so WRITE! Get that first draft done because no matter how much you worry and obsess over it it’s only the beginning.

How can readers discover more about you and you work?

Website or Blog: ginnygallagher.com

Facebook: facebook.com/AuthorGinnyGallagher

Twitter: @AuthorGinnyGal

Pinterest: pinterest.com/authorginnygal/

Instagram: instagram.com/ginny_gal/

 

Thank you for participating! Please join us on Friday, when the Debut Collective will feature Jessica Dorn!

 

Leave a Reply

